February 2017: Each year, Engineers Alliance for the Arts is proud to honor individual teachers and volunteers that have made a difference in our Student Impact Project. These recipients are presented with an award and receive recognition at the fall SEAONC meeting. Volunteers receive the William Kaplan Award, named for long-time EAA volunteer who, as a retired structural engineer, embodied the spirit of our program with his intelligence, enthusiasm and wit. We applaud and congratulate all past winners of the awards.

EAA Teacher
of the Year

2016: Daniel Pasker

2015: Keith Carames

2014: —

2013: Gigi Torres

2012: Linda O’Connor

2011: Karen Melander

William S. Kaplan
Volunteer of the Year

2016: Dave Miller

2015: Patrick Murren

2014: Clifton Neff

2013: Tayrn Williams

2012: Derrick Lind

2011: Will Kotterman and
Laura Whitehurst

November 1, 2016
The Engineers Alliance for the Arts is proud to announce the recipients of the 2016 Volunteer of the Year and Teacher of the Year, which were presented at the SEAONC Monthly meeting, held at SPUR. Dave Miller was given the William Kaplan Volunteer of the Year Award. Dave has worked with EAA for several years and has been a lead instructor at Immaculate Conception Academy. He has been very involved with curriculum development for the program and completely revamped the engineering disasters unit, which has been described by VP of the Student Impact Project, Patrick Murren, as the “most impactful module of our program.” Over the years, Dave has filmed and photographed many functions for EAA and has helped at several Awards Events. Dave is an engineer at Degenkolb and lives in San Francisco with his wife and their young son.

Daniel Pasker was given the Teacher of the Year Award. Daniel has been at NEA Community Learning Center in Alameda, CA, for several years and teaches a variety of subjects, including physics, geometry and pre-calculus. As an engineer with a background in material science, Daniel is an enthusiastic supporter of our program and pursues STEAM-related teaching in all of his project-based classes. Each year, Daniel’s class has received multiple awards at the Bridge Showcase and Competition, including the President’s Award, Best in Class and, in 2016, second place overall. Daniel, his wife and family reside in Alameda.

Please join us in congratulating Dave and Daniel!

Teacher of Year 2016 c

Teacher of Year 2016 b

Teacher of Year 2016 a


November 3, 2015
Patrick Murren and Keith Carames receive their Volunteer and Teach of the Year Awards at the SEAONC meeting, presented by Jax Kneppers, President of EAA along with Laura Whitehurst and Will Kotterman, VP’s of the Student Impact Project.

2015 Award 3

2015 Award 2

2015 Award 1

Teacher of the Year Keith Carames talks about the importance of EAA in the lives of his students.

May 16, 2014: EAA Program making headlines after fantastic Final Event!


November 5, 2013: Tuesday Dinner meeting hosted by the Structural Engineers Association of Northern California.

EAA showed a video highlight of our Student Impact Program and also presented awards to Darrick Hom for his 3 years as Program Director, Taryn Williams for the William Kaplan Volunteer of the Year Award, and Gigi Torres for the Teacher of the Year Award. Big thanks to SEAONC for their continued support every year, and to all our sponsors who help make this program happen!

dinner 9

dinner 8

dinner 7

dinner 6

dinner 5

dinner 4

dinner 3

dinner 2

dinner 1


EAA’s display of competition bridges at the Golden Gate 75th Anniversary event.

Young at Art 6

Young at Art 5

Young at Art 4

Young at Art 3

Young at Art 2

Young at Art 1


Young At Art Event

Engineers Alliance for the Arts participated in the San Francisco Unified School District’s 2012 Young at Art festival; an 8 day celebration of student creativity in visual, literary, media and performing arts hosted by the world renowned de Young Museum in Golden Gate Park. For the past 26 years this unique San Francisco event, (formerly San Francisco Youth Arts Festival), has been a point of destination for families, teachers, artists and community members from San Francisco and beyond.

Many pieces of artwork in of this year’s festival were centered around the 75th Anniversary of the Golden Gate Bridge theme. Bridges created as part of Engineers Alliance for the Arts were central to the display at the de Young Museum during the festival. Congratulations to all of the students, teachers and volunteers that participated in EAA’s Student impact Project and helped make these extraordinary bridges that were on display.

Golden Gate 6

Golden Gate 5

Golden Gate 4

Golden Gate 2

Golden Gate 1


2012 EAA Awards Night: November 13, 2012

EAA held their second annual Awards night, hosted by the Structural Engineers Association of Northern California (SEAONC). Award recipients included:

  • Linda O’Connor, Teacher of the Year Award
  • Derrick Lind, William Kaplan volunteer of the year Award
  • Jax Kneppers and Associates, Sponsor Appreciation Award
  • Rutherford and Chekene, Sponsor Appreciation Award
  • Simpson Gumpertz & Heger, Sponsor Appreciation Award
  • SEAONC, Sponsor Appreciation Award
  • Computers & Structures, Inc., Sponsor Appreciation Award
seaonc 6

seaonc 5

seaonc 4

seaonc 3

seaonc 2

seaonc 1





youtube Like Us at Facebook       |       youtube Visit our YouTube Channel

Home | Award Event | Key Supporters | Contact | Member Area

©2016 EAA. All Rights Reserved.

Wordpress Themes